toffee apple cakes!

  

I intended to make these for Hollowe’en but I ended up making them the week after. Just in time for bonfire night. Not that I need an excuse to make cakes but I do like having a theme to work with.

These ended up being very delicious. I used Bramely cooking apples this time round. I added them chopped up in the batter along with pieces of toffee.

For the topping I sliced up the rest of the apple and made my own toffee mixture (with lots of red food colouring for that extra blood effect) and just poured it over the top. The icing is just simple vanilla buttercream.

Leave a Reply

